Bath

More details

Bath was first settled by the United Empire Loyalists in 1784, making it one of the oldest communities in Ontario. It was served by an early colonial road, the 1784 Bath Road, which follows the lakefront as the Loyalist Parkway. Discharged soldiers from Jessup's Rangers were the first settlers. The economic development of the community was enabled by a sheltered harbour and road connections with Kingston stimulated economic development. By mid-century Bath was a prosperous point of trade. After the town had been divided up between the families of Hawley, Davy, Rose and Amey, it was John Davy who was first to lay down roads on his lot #10. By 1804 the whole village had been prepared for settlement and surveyed. The village was originally named Ernestown, but was renamed Bath in 1819 after the city in England.

A bustling lakefront manufacturing village with 400-1000 people in the 1850s, Bath began to lose industrial importance to Napanee (and to cities like Kingston/Belleville) after ...

being successively bypassed by the York Road (1817), the Grand Trunk Railway (1856) and the 401 motorway (1964). The closest rail access was an 1856 Ernestown rail station built to the west of Camden East Road in a rural area, similar in design to Napanee's historic station; it is now boarded up and inaccessible.

The village was incorporated in 1859 and disincorporated by its 1998 annexation to Loyalist Township. Bath is directly west of Millhaven, the location of Millhaven Institution.Loyalist Golf and Country Club is a golf course in Bath. Every year on July 1 there is a Canada Day celebration featuring a parade and fair. Bath is home to the medium security prison Bath Institution, which is co-located within the Millhaven Institution.

Source: wikipedia

Accommodation options
Travelers who were here
Comments
Send
Bath
ProvinceOntario
Weather
Local time